Skip to content
21 Summit Check

The Magee Prize

The 2024 Magee Prize Call for Proposals will be distributed globally in November 2023.

Established as a catalyst for transformational research in reproductive sciences and women’s health around the globe, the $1 million Magee Prize will be awarded to a collaborative team for groundbreaking research that changes lives worldwide.


The Magee Prize is based on a transdisciplinary collaboration between a Magee-Womens Research Institute scientist and researchers anywhere in the world, from any relevant biological discipline.


The first Magee Prize was awarded in October 2018 to an international team focused on accelerating cutting-edge research in heart disease.


In 2021, the second Magee Prize was awarded to a collaborative team of researchers innovating vaginal and pelvic reconstruction surgery.


2021 Magee Prize Winning Team

Magee RKMF Prize Full Group 2021

The 2021 Magee Prize, a $1 million award, was granted to an international team led by Dr. Pamela Moalli, Director of Urogynecology and Pelvic Reconstruction Surgery at UPMC Magee-Womens Hospital and Magee-Womens Research Institute.


The team's groundbreaking research focuses on developing innovative biomaterials to repair tissue loss in women facing compromised vaginal structure and function resulting from pelvic cancers, ovariectomy, chemotherapy, or radiation treatments.


Read the full release on the 2021 Magee Prize Winning Team

2018 Magee Prize Winning Team


The 2018 Magee Prize went to a University of Pittsburgh team led by Dr. Yaacov Barak.


The team will utilize the $1 million Magee Prize from the Richard King Mellon Foundation to investigate how placental defects may lead to congenital heart disease, aiming to identify early interventions to correct or prevent such defects.


Read the full release on the 2018 Magee Prize Winning Team